|South Carolina Department of Archives and History|
|National Register Properties in South Carolina
Ingleside, Spartanburg County (U.S. Hwy. 176, Campobello vicinity)
|Facade||Right Elevation||Portico Detail||Window Detail|
(Landrum-Jackson House) Ingleside was built ca. 1871 by Dr. John Belton O’Neall Landrum, one of South Carolina’s early upcountry historians. Ingleside is an interesting example of eclectic architecture reflecting Classical Revival and Palladian influences. A German craftsman was brought in to execute the unusual woodwork and remained at Ingleside for one year. The unique detail of the brackets and baroque woodwork, and the size and proportions of the building, distinguished the structure from the more typical South Carolina upcountry house. This two-story building has a raised foundation and a tetrastyle pedimented portico with balcony. The columns are attenuated Tuscan. Additional details include swan’s neck brackets at the eaves, baroque woodwork in over-window panels, and ornate pediment moldings. Listed in the National Register October 15, 1973. It has since burned. Removed from the National Register December 8, 2005
View the complete text of the nomination form for this National Register property.
Most National Register properties are privately owned and are not open to the public. The privacy of owners should be respected. Not all properties retain the same integrity as when originally documented and listed in the National Register due to changes and modifications over time.
Images and texts on these pages are intended for research or educational use. Please read our statement on use and reproduction for further information on how to obtain a photocopy or how to cite an item.
Images provided by the South Carolina Department of Archives and History.