|South Carolina Department of Archives and History|
|National Register Properties in South Carolina
Easley High School Auditorium, Pickens County (112 Russell St., Easley)
|South and East Elevations||East Elevation||North and West Elevations||West and South Elevations||West Elevation|
|Cornerstone|| South Elevation,
| East Elevation,
| South Elevation,
Windows and Segmental Arches
The Easley High School Auditorium is historically significant for its long association with education and civic life in Easley in the first half of the twentieth century. The load bearing masonry building in the Renaissance Revival style is also significant as an outstanding early example of the work of architects Frank H. and Joseph G. Cunningham, and for its early efforts to introduce steel trusses into traditional masonry-bearing wall and heavy timber construction. As Easley’s first and only high school from 1909 to 1940, the building was central to the early experience and training of almost every local resident. Architects Frank H. and Joseph G. Cunningham began architectural practice in Greenville in 1907 or 1908, and Joseph G. Cunningham continued to practice until his death around 1960. Listed in the National Register January 21, 1999.
View the complete text of the nomination form for this National Register Property.
Most National Register properties are privately owned and are not open to the public. The privacy of owners should be respected. Not all properties retain the same integrity as when originally documented and listed in the National Register due to changes and modifications over time.
Images and texts on these pages are intended for research or educational use. Please read our statement on use and reproduction for further information on how to obtain a photocopy or how to cite an item.
Images provided by theSouth Carolina Department of Archives and History.