South Carolina Department of Archives and History
National Register Properties in South Carolina

Calhoun Mill, McCormick County (int. of S.C. Sec. Rd. 823 & S.C. Sec. Rd. 40, Mt. Carmel vicinity)
S1081773300601 S1081773300602 S1081773300603 S1081773300604 S1081773300605
Facade Right Oblique Right Elevation Left Elevation
Water Table
Mill Drive
S1081773300606 S1081773300607 S1081773300608 S1081773300609  
Interior Mill Dam Cotton Gin Outbuilding

(Rogers Mill) Calhoun Mill is a mid-nineteenth century brick building which possesses a high degree of architectural quality, representing a unique and fine example of mill construction. The mill is significant for its brick construction and for its size, containing three full stories and a basement. The usual manner of grist mill construction produced buildings similar to barns which contained no ornamentation and were almost always built of wood. Mills built of brick and stone are rare in all sections of the country; even more unique is the presence of a hipped roof. Decorative elements include a brick water table, small projecting hood on the third-story facade, corbelled brick cornice, and original nine-over-nine and six-over-nine window sashes. While the present building was constructed ca. 1860, the property included in the nomination has been associated with a mill operation since the 1770s. The mill building, together with six outbuildings (associated sheds and a cotton gin), a race, and a mill dam, are also significant for their impact on the economical, social, and cultural development of this area, which was known by the name of Calhoun’s Mills for many years. Calhoun Mill served as a commercial center for the Mount Carmel area, providing employment and services, and supporting a thriving community of other businesses nearby. The ca. 1860 mill was used for grinding corn, wheat, and other grains. The site served as a popular place for political rallies and social gatherings well into the twentieth century, according to local residents. A post office was located at the mill between 1822 and 1894. Listed in the National Register November 24, 1980.

View the complete text of the nomination form for this National Register property.

Most National Register properties are privately owned and are not open to the public. The privacy of owners should be respected. Not all properties retain the same integrity as when originally documented and listed in the National Register due to changes and modifications over time.

Images and texts on these pages are intended for research or educational use. Please read our statement on use and reproduction for further information on how to obtain a photocopy or how to cite an item.

Images provided by the South Carolina Department of Archives and History.