|South Carolina Department of Archives and History|
|National Register Properties in South Carolina
Cartledge House, Lexington County (305 Saluda Ave., Batesburg)
|Facade||Right Elevation||Rear Elevation||Left Elevation|
The Cartledge House is architecturally unique in the Central Midlands Region in its distinctive exterior weatherboarding, which is planed into an ogee curve. The front door features an oval, beveled glass window. Brook Cartledge, who had the house built, was a Batesburg merchant and postmaster. The commanding residence is representative of his social standing in the community. This ca. 1898 Victorian era residence is a two-story weatherboard dwelling, consisting of a rectangular central block under a hipped roof with sheet metal shingles and a truncated ridge. Corbeled interior chimneys pierce the roof slope. Double gallery porches wrap around the front and side elevations on both stories. Tuscan colonettes and turned balustrades ornament the porches. A steep cross gable centered by a circular vent pierces the front roof slope. Window sashes are one-over-one throughout. Interior refinements include a spoolwork frieze over the entrance to the stairway, tiled fire surrounds, and mantels with beveled mirrors. Listed in the National Register July 6, 1982.
View the complete text of the nomination form for this National Register property. In addition, the Historic Resources of Batesburg-Leesville includes historical background information for this and other related National Register properties.
Most National Register properties are privately owned and are not open to the public. The privacy of owners should be respected. Not all properties retain the same integrity as when originally documented and listed in the National Register due to changes and modifications over time.
Images and texts on these pages are intended for research or educational use. Please read our statement on use and reproduction for further information on how to obtain a photocopy or how to cite an item.
Images provided by theSouth Carolina Department of Archives and History.