|South Carolina Department of Archives and History|
|National Register Properties in South Carolina
John L. Hart House, Darlington County (E. Home Ave., Hartsville)
|Facade||Left Oblique||Left Elevation|
(Hart-Mills Cottage) The John L. Hart House is strongly associated by citizens of the town with the events and persons that have given Hartsville its unique characteristics. Hartsville is characterized by its post-Civil War development through the energies of the Coker family and families associated with them in the development of a variety of imaginative business enterprises. Enterprises such as Sonoco Products Company, the Coker Pedigreed Farms, the J.L. Coker Company, and other similar businesses gave opportunity to local residents and attracted some of the brightest minds in the state to locate here. A number of those individuals were owners or residents of the John L. Hart House. The building is believed to have been constructed ca. 1850 as the home of John Lide Hart. There is no question that the house as originally built was antebellum and stood on land owned by Hart. The house is a small, one-and-one-half story, frame dwelling located on a residential street adjacent to the central business district. Alterations and additions to the original building in the later nineteenth and early twentieth centuries changed its appearance without destroying its basic configuration. Listed in the National Register November 10, 1983.
View the complete text of the nomination form for this National Register property.
Most National Register properties are privately owned and are not open to the public. The privacy of owners should be respected. Not all properties retain the same integrity as when originally documented and listed in the National Register due to changes and modifications over time.
Images and texts on these pages are intended for research or educational use. Please read our statement on use and reproduction for further information on how to obtain a photocopy or how to cite an item.
Images provided by theSouth Carolina Department of Archives and History.