South Carolina Department of Archives and History
National Register Properties in South Carolina

Seacoast Packing Company, Beaufort County (100 Dill Dr., Beaufort)
S1081770706601 S1081770706602 S1081770706603 S1081770706604 S1081770706605
North Facade Northeast Oblique Northwest Oblique East Elevation East Elevation
and Railroad
S1081770706606 S1081770706607 S1081770706608 S1081770706609 S1081770706610
South Elevation Southwest
West Elevation West Elevation
Detail of
Loading Ramp
S1081770706611 S1081770706612 S1081770706613    
First Floor
Second Floor
Third Floor

Long referred to as “the Pig Factory” or “the Slaughter House” but more recently better known as “the Pickle Factory,” the Seacoast Packing Company is significant for its contributions to the Beaufort economy in the areas of industry and agriculture. Built 1920-1921, it is important to the history of the city because it was constructed at a time when Beaufort was trying to diversify its economy. Funded by local subscription in company stocks, the construction of the meat packing plant was conceived as a community development project to improve the economic condition of the area. After the almost immediate failure of the meat packing enterprise, the building was utilized from 1928 to ca. 1940 for grocery overflow storage, then from 1932 to ca. 1940 and from ca. 1945 to 1947 as a tomato canning plant factory and pickle packing plant, respectively, contributing to the continued significance of the structure for its role in truck farming in the region. The building stands as one of the only remaining early twentieth century industrial buildings in the city limits and is now surrounded by a single-family residential area. The building was designed by Brooks Engineering of Moultrie, Georgia, as a poured-in-place concrete frame with a structural tile wall infill system typical of the time period, but unique to the area. The tile has been covered with stucco on the lower two levels, most likely as a result of the infilling of windows when the building changed use or was employed as a warehouse. The original tile is still exposed on the upper floor of the structure. The east façade, which faces the railroad and has a stepped parapet wall, is the building’s primary façade. Listed in the National Register June 17, 2008.

View the complete text of the nomination form for this National Register property.

Most National Register properties are privately owned and are not open to the public. The privacy of owners should be respected. Not all properties retain the same integrity as when originally documented and listed in the National Register due to changes and modifications over time.

Images and texts on these pages are intended for research or educational use. Please read our statement on use and reproduction for further information on how to obtain a photocopy or how to cite an item.

Images provided by the South Carolina Department of Archives and History.